In the rush to message someone quickly, we often end up sending the message to the wrong person and feel embarrassed about the action. Or, we hastily send a message to a loved one, only to regret it later. Luckily, we won’t have to face this situation anymore when using iMessage in iOS 16, iPadOS 16, and macOS 13 Ventura. The ability to unsend messages on iPhones was overdue, especially with popular messaging apps like WhatsApp already having this feature for a long time. Well, Apple has finally added unsend feature in iMessage with its latest mobile and desktop operating system updates. So, if you have installed iOS 16 Developer Beta or macOS Ventura Developer Beta and are curious about how you can unsend messages on iPhone, iPad, and Mac, check out this detailed guide.
Unsend iMessages on iPhone, iPad and Mac (2022)
Things to keep in mind before unsending iMessages
Before you start, there are some limitations with the unsend feature in iMessage that you should be aware of. If you already know them, you can skip to the steps below. The important points you need to remember are:
- As mentioned above, the “Undo Send” feature requires iOS 16, which is currently in beta and will roll out to the public later this fall. It also works on the latest iPadOS 16 and macOS Ventura beta updates.
- This means that if you unsend a message to someone using iOS 15 or earlier versions of the operating system, the message will not be deleted for them and they will still see it in the chat.
- If the recipient is using iOS 16, they will receive a notification that a message was not sent. Therefore, they will easily find out that you have deleted a message from the conversation. If they didn’t see the preview when the original message was sent, they won’t know anything about the message.
- Another limitation here is that the The “Undo Send” function is only available up to 15 minutes after the message has been sent. If more than 15 minutes have passed since the message was sent, you will not be allowed to delete the message for everyone. So unless you quickly realize your mistake and correct it before the message is seen, there is nothing you can do but regret the action.
How to Unsend Messages on Your iPhone and iPad
With the basics out of the way, let’s learn how to unsend messages in iMessage on iPhone and iPad. Here’s how:
1. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Messaging app and head to a conversation thread.
2. Now find the message you want to cancel. Long press on the message and choose “Cancel send” in the contextual context menu. You won’t see the option to unsend a message on iPhone if you sent it more than 15 minutes ago.
3. There you go! A small animation that shows the message bubble bursting will appear, and it will immediately disappear. Additionally, you will also see an alert reading – “You haven’t sent a message.”
How to Unsend Messages on Your Mac
Deleting a sent message for everyone in the iMessage conversation is just as easy in macOS Ventura. Here’s how it works:
1. First, open the Messaging app on your Mac. After that, navigate to a conversation thread.
2. Now right click on the post you want to delete for everyone. So choose “Cancel send“ in the contextual pop-up menu.
3. And you’re done! Just like the iPhone, you’ll see the message bubble pop and disappear when you unsend a text. It will be replaced by an alert reading, “You did not send a message”.
Delete Sent Message for Everyone on iPhone and Mac
That’s all you need to know about the new unsend feature in iMessage introduced in iOS 16, iPadOS 16, and macOS Ventura update. While the Apple Messages app might not have many improvements, the options to edit sent messages and delete mistakenly sent messages on iPhone and Mac are nice additions. So what do you think of these newly added iMessage features? Let us know your opinion about them in the comments below.